YUMI ITO

Vocalist - Composer - PERFORMER

 

Yumi Ito (1990) ist eine Schweizer Musikerin, Komponistin und Schauspielerin mit Polnisch-Japanischen Wurzeln, lebhaft in Basel, Schweiz. 2015 schloss sie den Bachelor Of Arts in Jazz Gesang von der Zürcher Hochschule der Künste mit Unterricht bei Marianne Racine, Chris Wiesendanger und Omri Ziegele ab. Ihr Masterstudium in Jazz Gesang Pädagogik und Komposition setzte sie an der Hochschule für Musik in Basel bei Lisette Spinnler, Guillermo Klein, Mark Turner, Jorge Rossy, Larry Grenadier und Jeff Ballard fort.

 

2017 wurde Ito als Stipendiantin von Wolfgang Muthspiel in die Focus Year Band gewählt und war ein Jahr lang Teil des achtköpfigen Ensembles. Die internationale Band wurde wöchentlich von Musikern wie Dave Holland, Avishai Cohen, Django Bates, Steve Swallow, Lionel Loueke, Kurt Rosenwinkel gecoacht und trat auf im Opus Jazz Club Budapest, Porgy and Bess Wien, Off Beat Festival u.v.a.

 

Als Bandleaderin, Sidewoman und Arrangeurin ist Yumi Ito im Jazz, Theater, Filmmusik und der freien Improvisation tätig. Sie hat bereits drei Alben als Leaderin aufgenommen: "Intertwined" (2016, Unit Records), "Ypsilon" (2017, For What Records) und "Yumi Ito Orchestra", welches 2020 erscheint. Zu ihren aktuellen Hauptprojekten gehören das elfköpfige Yumi Ito Orchestra, Yumi Ito Quartet und das Duo dem polnischen Gitarristen Szymon Mika. Sie ist Musikerin, Komponistin und Schauspielerin in der aktuellen Musiktheater-Produktion "VER-DING" von Theater Texte und Töne Sissach. Ihre Konzerttätigkeit führte sie bereits nach Polen, Japan, Frankreich, Deutschland, Ungarn, Türkei, Tschechien, Brasilien und Island.

 

Im Rahmen einer Kompositionsresidenz wurde Yumi Ito im August 2018 nach Eskifjördur, Island eingeladen um Stücke für ihr aktuellen Projekte zu komponieren. Sie ist Preisträgerin der Montreux Jazz Vocal Competition 2015, konzertierte mit der DKSJ Band 2016 unter der Leitung von Arthur Hnatek und wurde im selben Jahr in die Gewinner-Band der Generation Frauenfeld Band gewählt, welche im darauffolgenden Sommer 2017 mit dem Posaunisten und Komponisten Adrian Mears durch Schweizer Jazzclubs tourte. 2016 wurde sie von Yaron Herman ans 50. Montreux Jazz Festival eingeladen um mit Ziv Ravitz und Joe Martin eigene Kompositionen zu performen. Zudem studierte Ito im Sommer 2013 während eines zweimonatigen Aufenthaltes in New York bei Gretchen Parlato, Bob Stoloff, Jay Clayton und Bobby McFerrin Improvisation.

 

Aktuelle Projekte:

Yumi Ito Orchestra

Yumi Ito solo / with band

Yumi Ito & Szymon Mika

 

Aktuelle Projekte als Sidewoman:

Der Grosse Bär

Luca Sisera's DEER HAVEN

Vaclav Palka's Poens.

Niko Seibold's European Song

Diskografie:

Yumi Ito Orchestra - Stardust Crystals (2020)

Marton Juhasz Group - Discovery (2019)

Contemporary Big Band - Nine Yards (2019)

Alex And The Wavemakers - EP (2018)
Focus Year Band 2018: After This (2018)

Andreo / Van Rechem 17tet: A x √R + 15 (2018)

Yumi Ito & Yves Theiler: Ypsilon (2017)

Arthur Hnatek DKSJ: Hendecagone (2016)

Yumi Ito Quartet: Intertwined (2016)


 

Festivalauftritte:
Montreux Jazz Festival, Cully Jazz Festival, Jazzwerkstatt Bern, Off Beat Festival Basel, Klang Basel Festival, Bejazz Minifestival, Blue Balls Festival, Young Prague Festival, Jazz à la Cité Internationale Festival Paris, Jazztage Chur, Jazzfest Wien, Perform Now Festival u.v.a.

 

Auszeichnungen / Residenzen / Scholarships

2019 Artist in Residence Neskapustadur, Island

2019 Nomination für den ZKB Jazzpreis mit dem Yumi Ito Orchestra

2018 Kuratorin Guck Mal Günther Festival Lenzburg

2018 Artist in residence St. Moritz

2018 Kompositionsresidenz in Eskifjördur, Island

2017 Focus Year Stipendium 

2016 Wahl in die Generations Unit Band, Jazzfestival Frauenfeld

2016 SOFIA (Support Of Female Improvising Artists) Zürich

2016 Auszeichnung Lyceum Club Zürich

2016 Montreux Jazz Academy 

2015 Auszeichnung Montreux Jazz Vocal Competition (Jurymitglied Al Jarreau)

2014 Auszeichnung Siena Jazz Festival, Italien


 

Theater

2019 Schauspielerin / Musikalische Leitung in "VER-DING" im Theater Texte & Töne, Sissach

2019 Darstellerin in "Sweatshop Deadly Fashion" am Schauspielhaus Zürich (Regie: Sebastian Nübling)

2019 Darstellerin in "Hail To The Thief" an der Gessnerallee Zürich (Regie: Marielle Sterra)

2018 Darstellerin in "Die Macht der Gewohnheit" an der Everding Akademie München (Regie: Benjamin Truong)

2009 Darstellerin in "Creeps" im Qbus Uster (Regie: Anjelika Oberholzer)

2008 Darstellerin in "Lampenfieber" im Qbus Uster(Regie: Anjelika Oberholzer)

2007 Darstellerin in "Don Juan" im Qbus Uster (Regie: Anjelika Oberholzer)

 

Film

Studiomusikerin für die Animationsfilme "Coyote" und "Lachfalten" für YK Animation Studio und den Kurzfilm "Tote Tiere"

BIO

Vocalist - Composer - Performer

Yumi Ito (1990) is a Swiss musician, composer and actress with Polish-Japanese roots, living in Basel, Switzerland. In 2015, she completed the Bachelor of Arts in Jazz Singing at the Zurich University of the Arts and in 2017 she received her master's degree in Jazz vocals and composition at Jazzcampus Basel Guillermo Klein, Mark Turner, Jorge Rossy, Larry Grenadier, Lisette Spinnler and Jeff Ballard.


2017 Ito was elected by Wolfgang Muthspiel to participate in the prestigious Focus Year Band program and was a part of the eight-member ensemble for a year. The international band performed and was coached weekly by musicians such as Dave Holland, Avishai Cohen, Django Bates, Steve Swallow, Lionel Loueke and Kurt Rosenwinkel and performed at the Opus Jazz Club Budapest, Porgy and Bess Vienna, Off Beat Festival to name a few.

As a bandleader, sidewoman and arranger, Yumi Ito works in jazz, theater, film music and improvised music. Yumi has recorded three albums under her name: "Intertwined" (2016, Unit Records), "Ypsilon" (2017, For What Records) and "Yumi Ito Orchestra", which will be published in 2020. Her main projects include the eleven-member Yumi Ito Orchestra, Yumi Ito Quartet and the duo of Polish guitarist Szymon Mika. She is musician, composer and actress in the actual music-theatre production "VER-DING" from Theater Texte und Töne Sissach. She has toured in Iceland, Japan, Brazil, Poland, France, Austria, Germany, Hungary, Turkey, Czech Republic and Switzerland.

 

As part of a compositional residency, Yumi Ito was invited twice to East of Iceland in August 2018 and June 2019 to work on the music for her current projects. She is a winner of the Montreux Jazz Vocal Competition 2015, performed with the DKSJ Band 2016 under the baton of Arthur Hnatek, and became a member of the winner band of the generation Frauenfeld Band in the following summer 2017 with trombonist and composer Adrian Mears toured through Swiss jazz clubs. In 2016 she was invited by Yaron Herman to the 50th Montreux Jazz Festival to perform her own compositions with Ziv Ravitz and Joe Martin. In the summer of 2013, Ito also studied with Gretchen Parlato, Bob Stoloff, Jay Clayton, and Bobby McFerrin during a two-month stay in New York.

Current Projects

Yumi Ito (solo / quartet with band)

Yumi Ito Orchestra

Yumi Ito & Szymon Mika Duo

 

Current Projects as sidewoman

Der Grosse Bär

Luca Sisera's DEER HAVEN

Vaclav Palka's Poens.

Niko Seibold's European Song

 


Discography

Yumi Ito Orchestra - Stardust Crystals (2020)

Aktomis - Perfect Town (2019)

Marton Juhasz Group - Discovery (2019)

Contemporary Big Band - Nine Yards (2019)

Alex And The Wavemakers - EP (2018)
Focus Year Band 2018: After This (2018)

Andreo / Van Rechem 17tet: A x √R + 15 (2018)

Yumi Ito & Yves Theiler: Ypsilon (2017)

Arthur Hnatek DKSJ: Hendecagone (2016)

Yumi Ito Quartet: Intertwined (2016)

 

Awards / Residencies / Scholarships

2019 Artist in Residence Neskapustadur, Iceland

2019 Nomination for the ZKB Jazzprize with the Yumi Ito Orchestra in Moods Zürich, Switzerland

2018 Artistic Curator for the Guck Mal Günther Festival Lenzburg, Switzerland

2018 Artist in residence in St. Moritz, Switzerland

2018 Composition residency in Eskifjördur, Iceland

2017 Focus Year Stipend Basel, Switzerland

2016 Generations Unit Band, Jazzfestival Frauenfeld, Switzerland

2016 SOFIA (Support Of Female Improvising Artists) Zürich, Switzerland

2016 Award of the Lyceum Club Zürich, Switzerland

2016 Montreux Jazz Academy, Switzerland

2015 Winner of the Montreux Jazz Vocal Competition (Jurymitglied Al Jarreau), Switzerland

2014 Scholarship Siena Jazz Festival Workshops, Italy

 

Theatre

2019 Actress /musical director in "VER-DING" at the Theater Texte & Töne, Sissach

2019 Actress in "Sweatshop Deadly Fashion" at the Schauspielhaus Zürich (Regie: Sebastian Nübling)

2019 Performer in "Hail To The Thief" at the Gessnerallee Zürich (Regie: Marielle Sterra)

2018 Actress in "Die Macht der Gewohnheit" at the Everding Akademie München (Regie: Benjamin Truong)

2009 Actress in "Creeps" at Qbus Uster (Regie: Anjelika Oberholzer)

2008 Actress in "Lampenfieber" at Qbus Uster(Regie: Anjelika Oberholzer)

2007 Actress in "Don Juan" at Qbus Uster (Regie: Anjelika Oberholzer)

 

Film

Studiomusician for the animation movies "Coyote" und "Lachfalten" for YK Animation Studio and the short movie "Tote Tiere"