Yumi Ito was born in 1990 in Basel (CH) and grew up in a polish-japanese family of musicians. She started playing the piano at the age of three and gave her piano debut with the Zurich Chamber Orchestra at the “Tonhalle” hall in Zurich five years later. From the age of 13, she has studied classical singing with her mother, Margo Cadias and later on specialized in Jazz. She took lessons with teachers as Lisette Spinnler, Gretchen Parlato, Theo Bleckmann, Becca Stevens, Marianne Racine, Efrat Alony and Bobby McFerrin and many more.

She holds a Bachelor of Arts Degree in Jazz Vocal Performance from the Zürcher Hochschule der Künste (ZHdK) and currently studies for her Master's degree at the Hochschule für Musik Basel (Jazzcampus).

At the age of 24 Yumi Ito has recorded her first album together with Yves Theiler, Gabriel Dalvit and Yuri Goloubev in London, toured through Japan with a Big Band and currently composes for her Duo with pianist Yves Theiler. Yumi Ito was awarded the Scholarship of Siena Jazz as the first singer and won the third prize at the 2015 Montreux Jazz Festival's Shure Vocal Competition (president of the jury: Al Jarreau) as the only representant of Switzerland, Poland and Japan.

Yumi Ito performed at Festivals as Montreux Jazz Festival, Cully Jazz Festival, Blue Balls Festival, Musig Am Zürisee, Musibiasca Festival and Perform Now! and since 2012 has steady gigs in Zürich. She has shared the stage with musicians as Michael Kanan, Nils Petter Molvaer, Dominique Girod, Billy Test, Jéan-Paul Brodbeck, Yves Theiler, Yuri Goloubev, Pius Baschnagel, Sheldon Suter, Rodrigo Botter Maio, Der Grosser Bär, Gabriel Dalvit, Slawek Plizga, Giorgios Antoniu, Raphael Walser, Raphael Jost, Rudresh Mahanthappa, Alessandro Pittini, Max Petersen, Lukas Traxel, Silvan Jeger and many others.

Her interests lead from Jazz tradition to classical music and free Improvisation, which she combines in her own compositions and arrangements.


...studied with:

Lisette Spinnler, Al Jarreau, Bobby Mc Ferrin, Yaron Herman, Nils Petter Molvaer, Theo Bleckmann, Kurt Rosenwinkel, Efrat Alony, Chris Wiesendanger, Bob Stoloff, Tony Renold, Omri Ziegele, Jorge Rossy, Joe Sanders, Ziv Ravitz, Larry Grenadier, Bugge Wesseltoft, Sidsel Endresen, Becca Stevens, Lage Lund, Gerald Clayton, Jeff Ballard, Gretchen Parlato, Diana Torto, Mark Giuliana, Stefano Battaglia, Tony Renold, Adrian Frey, Marianne Racine, Marion Cowings, Jay Clayton, Lucas Niggli, Billy Heart, Andy Scherrer, William Evans, Michael Beck etc.